2014 FIM European Flat Track Cup – Round 1
Sunday 10 August 2014


The 2014 Flat Track series kicked off with one of the best events witnessed since the FIM introduced the Flat Track racing discipline. The event was run at the Marianske Lazne track, with the races interspersed on the same day that the FIM Longtrack Challenge was being staged there.

This was the largest track the Flat Track racers had ever competed on and the 1,000 metre circuit saw them reaching faster speeds than they had ever ridden before on a shale surface. The meeting saw eight qualifying heats of 6 laps, with each rider racing in four qualifying races. The top twelve riders then all lined in two rows of six, for a spectacular ten-lap deciding final race.

They certainly put on a memorable finale, as it was difficult to know where to watch on the track, as there were close hard fought battles at several points around the track. Initially Enanuele Marzotto and Aidan Collins headed the field, with many looking to Collins to win the race such was his supreme form in the qualifying races. But Collins was surprised after a few laps and caught by Francesco Cecchini, who then set after Marzotto and gradually wore down the gap between the two fellow Italians. On the last bend on the final tenth lap he made his move and as the pair came off the last turn they raced towards the chequered flag side-by-side. In the last few metres teenager Cecchine completed a sensational pass to win the final by half a wheel in a move that brought the house down.

Final Classification and series points after Round 1 of the 2014 Flat Track Cup
1. Francesco Cecchini (Italy) 30
2. Emanuele Marzotto (Italy) 26
3. Aidan Collins (Great Britain) 24
4. Marco Belli (Italy) 22
5. Wilfried Delestre (France) 20
6. Jacopo Monti (Italy) 19
7. Johann Schruf (Austra) 18
8. Jan Vondrasek (Czech Republic) 17
9. Rob Sijbring (Netherlands) 16
10. Damien Bomais (France) 15
11. Gianluca Galleti (Italy) 14
12. Philippe Stella (France) 13
13. Yasmin Poppenraiter (Austria) 12
14. Pavol Pucko (Czech Republic) 11