DTRA National Short Track Championships Round 3
Wednesday 18 June 2014


The Eddie Wright Stadium at Scunthorpe provided an excellent location for round 3 of the DTRA National Championships on Sunday 15th June. The track had been heavily watered to reduce dust and provided a consistently yet loose and slippery surface that lead to some close racing but did not lend itself to passing manoeuvres.

During the heats it was the Kawasaki of young Oliver Brindley that looked to be dominating the pro class with two wins out of three whilst the Neave twins and current number one Aidan Collins were also in the mix. The pro final followed a pattern that has become the norm in 2014 with Aidan Collins hitting the front on the exit from turn one. Aiden was followed by Tim Neave and Oliver Brindley. As the riders settled into the 12 lap final Tom Neave was looking to be the fastest rider on the race track and managed a pass on Brindley and started to put his brother Tim under serious pressure. Both Tim and Tom were close to Aidan and a slip up on the tricky track by any of the riders would have left the win wide open.